Look, Ma! I’m published!

*Slams hands on computer screen* OH MY GOSH, WORLD. GUESS WHAT.

I was the receiver of wonderful news yesterday and have not quite calmed down. Let me take you back. *psychedelic ripple*

It was a morning like any other, but to an unsuspecting girl that always smiles, it would turn out to be a fateful day. I quite literally threw myself out of bed, shimmied into some skinny jeans, and moseyed out of my house with a thermos of coffee in hand. The sky was clear, and for once I was not in danger of being run over in the college parking lot. I entered my school and was greeted by my wonderful companions. We followed the yellow carpet road to a magical place called Einstein’s Bagels located in our art building, and got a hearty breakfast for the low low price of $3. Sitting down, facing one another on chairs with arm rests (score) I decided to check my email. That’s when it happened. The twist of fate. The turning point. The Universe’s grin. The wrinkle in time. The peanut butter to the jelly. IT. A message from my school’s literary magazine, revealing that I, Jessie, would. Be. PUBLISHED.

My freaking poems are going to be published in a literary magazine to be released later this month. I think I squealed for a solid three minutes. Then I called my mom XD I’m just really ecstatic about this because I’ve been writing since I was 6 years old, but have really only started sharing my work as of this summer. It was the good news I’ve been hoping for ^_^

To add to my wonderful day, I went to a little pottery studio in my town and painted a mug! I decorated it to look like a birch tree forest. When it’s all done with the kiln I think I’ll post a photo of it! I have this new idea that someday when I finally have my own apartment, all of my coffee mugs will be ones that I painted myself. I’m also putting deeper consideration into becoming a high school art teacher. But who knows!!

I hope you all have as wonderful of a day as I did! And if not, hang in there! It’s on the way!!

Much love to you all,

-thatgirlwhoalwayssmiles (But I guess the secret’s finally out that my name is Jessie XD )

Categories: poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Look, Ma! I’m published!

  1. OH MY GOSH!!! THAT IS SO GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OOOH MY GOSH!! THAT IS SOSSOSOSOSOSOSOSOOSOOOOSOSOSOSO AWESOME!!!! DO YOU KNOW HOW AMAZING THAT IS???!!!
    HIGH FIVE GURL!! 😜 😉 😛 😀

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

